Tuna Macaroni Salad

This recipe is one that I go when I haven’t planned or prepared in advance.  It’s best for the summer, but it’s okay for the winter too if needed (like last night!).  My son loves this meal.  My daughter thinks it’s just okay.  This recipe is actually from my mom…she’s been making this since I was little.  I’ll have to ask her where she got it!

Macaroni (any smaller shape is fine…rotini or shells or regular macaroni)

Peas (my mom used canned…Yuck!  I use frozen)

A bit of finely chopped onion

chopped celery

a can of tuna

mayonnaise

Boil the macaroni according to package directions.  If using frozen peas add those in the last couple of minutes.  Drain well and allow to cool.  You could run cold water over the noodles/peas to help cool them off.

In a large bowl mix the tuna, chopped vegetables, noodles and peas.  Add mayonnaise until it’s mixed together well like a pasta salad.  I think I usually use about 1/2 cup of mayo.  You can sprinkle with salt and pepper if desired.

An easy-peasy meal with ingredients that are commonly in my fridge and don’t need defrosting! 🙂

Leave a comment